Allors On Danse

Gold
2 min readMar 16, 2024

--

It’s been 14 days since I picked up my French lessons on Duolingo.

The actual reason is, I saw a couple playing on their phones and I remembered how I was once an addict but I could come up with other reasons like:

1. The goal is to one day win a rap battle with Stromae.

2. For when this boy finally says yes to me. I want to write him a sonnet in French, iambic pentametre style.

By now, I hope you’d know this title has no relevance to the post. Or maybe it does, because how else would you know I listen to Stromae?

It’s 11:20pm and every normal person that had my kinda day is snoring and drooling right now but how do I put this body to rest when my brain keeps tugging at me.

“Write, Wu-ray! Free your mind! You’ll feel better”

So I pick up my phone, because there’s so many things to record, like how lately, I’ve just been picking myself up on a daily basis.

Adulting is the toughest thing I’ve had to deal with and I’m not even 25 yet!

About 25 – it’s that age I’ve always looked forward to since 21. I told myself that when I clock 25, I would have hacked living life – no expectation of perfection but my life would have taken shape.

I want 25 to meet me a Jesus Woman, where I’m choosing Him daily, eyes fixed on Him, an actual relationship existing between us.

It’s been a rocky journey, because on some days, the only words that leave my mouth would be ‘thank you Father’ as I struggle in and out of sleep – then it ends with me jumping out of my bed because I’m about to be late for work.

Lately, I’ve been cheating nature just to prove to my insecurities that I’m badass.

I’m not only positive-talking out my fears and insecurities, I am outworking these self-doubts.

Everyday, I say to myself “get up, there’s more to you than this, there’s more that God wants you to be – for Him, for you”, and I’d better listen.

Marianne Williamson said: “…you are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you.”

No more playing small, and I mean that – in all facets of my life.

I’ll leave you with this short reel.

Laters🫶🏾

--

--

Gold

Journeying through life and journaling about it here...